Sunday, December 18, 2011

Book Review: Pyxis: The Discovery by K.C. Neal

Title: The Pyxis: The Discovery
Author: K.C. Neal
Series: Pyxis, Book 1
Publisher: StoneHouse Ink
Release Date: October 2011
Format: e-book, ARC
Source: given by the author
My Rating: 4 stars 
Corinne lives an average teenage life working at her dad’s cafe, hanging out with her best friend, and trying to forget a falling-out with her almost-boyfriend Mason. Things take a strange turn when she uses her late grandmother’s food dyes for a bake sale, and her customers suddenly find her irresistibly alluring. Then she discovers she and Mason are haunted by the same dreams of a dark force that consumes everything in its path.

Pursued by shadowy figures and a crazy woman with secrets from the past, Corinne must find out who her grandmother really was. In her quest to unravel her family’s history, she learns she is destined to protect this world--and the dark world of her dreams. She races to find the answers she seeks before her nightmares break free.
I'm not sure what Pyxis is about even now that I've finished the book. I am a label type of girl, meaning I like to categorize my books by vampires, werewolves, etc. but for this one I had non. Well it's definitely a fantasy novel and a good one. 

I can tell you for sure it has nothing to do with your typical paranormal books. I would say it has more to do with magic but I would have to see about that after reading the next book. The story ends right where things start to get clear about Corinne and what her destiny is.

The book starts when Corrine bakes some cupcakes and uses some stuff that were supposedly food colouring, only they weren't. Weird stuff begin to happen and she starts to investigate what those colourful bottles are that she found inside a box called Pyxis.

Now the romance part- because you know how much I love my stories to be accompanied by love stories. 
I liked the fact that Corinne and Mason already knew each other and there was already the initiation from being friends into something more. It was so refreshing because no matter how much I love it, it's beginning to be a little tiring the whole girl meets boy and fall in love without really knowing each other. 

Mason was one of the main reasons I wanted to keep reading and not stop. I wanted to know what had happened between them and if they were going to end up together. The suspense lol! That and of course what the heck Pyxis is and what Corinne is and Mason. They may share mutual feelings but they have more in common than they think and an unbreakable connection.

Overall, I loved and I will keep reading the series. It's perfect for those who want something new and unpredictable.

Saturday, November 19, 2011

A Small Hiatus...

I just wanted to let you know that I won't be blogging until after the 16th of December due to final exams.

I do have though scheduled two reviews which will come up next week.
Pyxis: The Discovery by K.C. Neal
Shimmerspell: A Faerie Tale Girl Novella #1 by Kimberly Spencer 

There is giveaway going on for my first year of blogging. Don't forget to ENTER!

When I come back they'll be plenty of reviews to come. Some are:

Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews
Between The Lines by Tammara Webber
Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
Bitten by Kelley Armstrong
Personal Demons by Lisa Desrochers 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Cover Crazy Thursday (10): Illuminate

Cover Crazy was created and hosted by Tawnil at The Book Worms. Find more information here

Haven Terra is a brainy, shy high school outcast. But everything begins to change when she turns sixteen. Along with her best friend Dante and their quiet and brilliant classmate Lance, she is awarded a prestigious internship in the big city— Chicago—and is sent to live and work at a swanky and stylish hotel under the watchful eyes of a group of gorgeous and shockingly young-looking strangers: powerful and alluring hotel owner Aurelia Brown; her second-in-command, the dashing Lucian Grove; and their stunning but aloof staff of glamazons called The Outfit.
As Haven begins falling for Lucian, she discovers that these beautiful people are not quite what they seem. With the help of a mysterious book, she uncovers a network of secret passageways from the hotel’s jazz-age past that leads her to the heart of the evil agenda of Aurelia and company: they’re in the business of buying souls. Will they succeed in wooing Haven to join them in their recruitment efforts, or will she be able to thwart this devilish set’s plans to take the souls of her classmates on prom night at the hotel?
Illuminate is an exciting saga of a teen’s first taste of independence, her experience in the lap of luxury, and her discovery she may possess strength greater than she ever knew.
Isn't this cover gorgeous? I so want that dress! Also did you notice that shadow that looks like wings? I wonder...

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by The Broke and Bookish
This week's Top 10:
Top Ten Books That Have Been On My Shelf For The Longest But I've Never Read

1) Gone series by Michael Grant. I actually have the first 3 books of the series and I have yet to read them.

2) The Host by Stephenie Meyer. This was one of the first books I bought when I got into reading again. 

3) Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. I got those books when the TV show started and have yet to read them. I'm waiting for the TV show to finish so I won't mixe them up because I know that the books are different from the show. 

4) Graceling by Kristin Cashore. I like fantasy books and got excited about this one especially when everyone kept telling me how good it was. But it still sits there unread.

5) Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce. I must have this for a good 2 years. 

6) Halo by Alexandra Adornetto. I recently got Hades which was supposed to push me towards reading Halo but not yet. I think I'm afraid of reading it and getting dissapointed because I've read good and bad reviews about it.

7) Lover Mine by J.R. Ward. I have the 8th book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series while I have only read the first book. I need to go grab the previous books in order to get to read this one.

8) Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. Did I mention that I liked fantasy books? Well I have no idea why I haven't read this one. 

9) Nightshade by Andrea Cremer. Another good book that I haven't read yet.

10) Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. I seriously need to start picking those books up.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Cover Crazy Thursday (9): The Legacy

Cover Crazy was created and hosted by Tawnil at The Book Worms. Find more information here.

The Legacy
Fallady Galbraith accepts the legacy of an isolated house on the Welsh borders as a means of escaping from London, but soon discovers that the house conceals a number of secrets, including, apparently, two household ghosts who act as cook and gardener.

Driven to find answers, she gets more than she bargained for when she falls into an eighteenth-century snowdrift. Life in 1779 is more about church, chilblains and chamber pots than dancing, dressing-up, and Mr Darcy, but love can be found in the most unlikely places.

As more strange events reveal ancient secrets, Fallady must choose between love and sacrifice.

I like the simplicity of this cover and how vibrant the colour blue is.

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (15)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Can I die now? I dry-retched again. It felt like all my innards were trying to crawl out the hard way. I thought I was outside. I know that house. That was where we lived Before.

"Seriously, Taylor, do you know who I am?" he demanded. 
She smiled at this. "You celebrities actually say that? That’s cute."

I like that about art, that what you see is sometimes more about who you are than what’s on the wall. I look at this painting and think about how everyone has some secret inside, something sleeping like that yellow bird.

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Book Review: Angelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton

Title: Angelfire
Author: Courtney Allison Moulton
Series: Angelfire, Book 1
Publisher: Harper Collins
Release Date: 2011
Format: e-book, ARC
Source: Netgalley
My Rating: 5 stars
First there are nightmares.
Every night Ellie is haunted by terrifying dreams of monstrous creatures that are hunting her, killing her.
Then come the memories.
When Ellie meets Will, she feels on the verge of remembering something just beyond her grasp. His attention is intense and romantic, and Ellie feels like her soul has known him for centuries. On her seventeenth birthday, on a dark street at midnight, Will awakens Ellie's power, and she knows that she can fight the creatures that stalk her in the grim darkness. Only Will holds the key to Ellie's memories, whole lifetimes of them, and when she looks at him, she can no longer pretend anything was just a dream.
Now she must hunt.
Ellie has power that no one can match, and her role is to hunt and kill the reapers that prey on human souls. But in order to survive the dangerous and ancient battle of the angels and the Fallen, she must also hunt for the secrets of her past lives and truths that may be too frightening to remember.
This book was awesome! I'm always hesitant towards books that everyone seem to like and strongly recommend and I was glad to find out that all those people were right!

I love the aspect of reincarnation. In this book Ellie keeps coming back in order to fight demons. Not exactly what I would expect from a typical reincarnation book. I'm more of coming-back-to-life-for-love type of girl. But there is plenty of love in the air in this book.

Will is the one who brings her memories back or tries to couple of times and the attraction between them is clear but of course it wouldn't be that easy for them to get together and here comes the big and unexpected twist which I totally didn't see coming. Add more drama and tension to the love story and it's insta-love for me! What can I say? I love my characters to go through hell first in order to be together which I guess won't be far from the truth... in the next books.

Ellie as a person who has lived many lives, is filled with memories which she gradually gets back. Some flashbacks were terrible like the way she died, but others were little snippets of her and Will which makes you see the bond they share with each other and how strong it is. I hope though flashbacks continue on the next book.

Overall I loved it! Anglefire is a fast paced and action driven novel with a forbidden love that'll make you want to come back for more.

In My Mailbox (7)

In My Mailbox is hosted by The Story Siren!

All these things I've done by Gabrielle Zevin
Hades by Alexandra Adornetto
The Poison Eaters by Holly Black

Magic Graves by Jeaniene Frost, Ilona Andrews
Eternal Eden by Nicole Williams


Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley
Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan
Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
The Butterfly Clues by Kate Ellison
Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber
Between the Sea and Sky by Jaclyn Dolamore
Everneath by Brodi Ashton


Thursday, November 3, 2011

Cover Crazy Thursday (8): Disenchanted

Cover Crazy was created and hosted by Tawnil at The Book Worms. Find more information here.

Elizabeth Blackburn, an intelligent and sassy New Yorker, doesn’t believe in the supernatural until she moves into Summerwind Mansion and begins having nightmares about a young woman murdered in the house. She suspects there’s something strange about this place and it’s not just the bad dreams.
Determined to unlock secrets that have remained hidden for centuries, Elizabeth is plunged into an otherworldly mystery that not even she can explain away. Not to mention, her uncontrollable attraction to the former owner, Dorian Knight. But soon after meeting Dorian, all of her beliefs are tested. He seems so familiar, and as close to Mr. Darcy as she’ll ever get—but Jane Austen never wrote a hero like him--someone who both excites and frightens her.
As the dark history of the Knight family begins to unravel, tensions heighten and old resentments turn deadly. Even though Dorian warns her about a terrible curse–she doesn’t know what to believe anymore.
And Elizabeth starts to wonder which she would rather hold onto—her sanity…or her life…

I just love this cover! The model's position and the way her red hair flows onto the red sheets to a point that they get lost. Her dress seems as if it is a wedding dress which spikes my curiosity about the book. And of course the fond which I think suits the cover. And I really want to read this since I saw those words on the cover.... I'm a sucker for cursed, forbidden, etc. loves.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Book Review: A Bad Boy Can Be Good For A Girl by Tanya Lee Stone

Bad Boy Can Be Good for a Girl
Title: A Bad Boy Can Be Good For A Girl
Author: Tanya Lee Stone
Publisher: Quercus
Release Date: 2006
Format: Paperback
Pages: 240
Source: Bought it
Josie, Nicolette, and Aviva all get mixed up with a senior boy, a cool, slick, sexy boy who can talk them into doing almost anything he wants.

In a blur of high school hormones and personal doubt, each girl struggles with how much to give up and what ultimately to keep for herself.

How do girls handle themselves? How much can a boy get away with? And in the end, who comes out on top? A bad boy may always be a bad boy.

But this bad boy is about to meet three girls who won't back down.

This is the story of three high school girls that get involved with a bad boy and the consequences of that. It is a short story wrote in verse and we get a glimpse of the three girls falling for the same boy. He moves from Josie to Nicolette and finally to Aviva looking for one thing. Sex.

I would describe this story as a cautionary tale of what happens when you get involved with a boy who looks for one thing only and you know it but choose to ignore it.

I recommend this to all girls stating high school as this could help them make the right choices.


Monday, October 24, 2011

Book Review: Wake by Lisa McMann

Title: Wake
Author: Lisa McMann
Series: Dream Catcher, Book 1
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: 2008
Format: Paperback
Pages: 210
Source: Bought
My Rating: 3 stars
For seventeen-year-old Janie, getting sucked into other people's dreams is getting old. Especially the falling dreams, the naked-but-nobody-notices dreams, and the sex-crazed dreams. Janie's seen enough fantasy booty to last her a lifetime.

She can't tell anybody about what she does -- they'd never believe her, or worse, they'd think she's a freak. So Janie lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn't want and can't control.

Then she falls into a gruesome nightmare, one that chills her to the bone. For the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else's twisted psyche. She is a participant....
It was very interesting to see Janie getting sucked into dreams. Because that was what was happening. She couldn't help but be sucked into someone's dreams when she was near them. Some of them were nice but some of them were pure nightmares and it was almost impossible to get out of them.

The story is short just about 230 pages and the writing is simple and to the point. It didn't take me long to finish it. The plot was pretty much simple too with the big surprise in the end. I did not expect that about Cabel!

The romance between Janie and Cabel was pure sweetness. That's what it comes to my mind-sweet-they were so cute together and you could see how they bonded with each other, because they both have scars and burdens but they helped each other.

Overall I liked it. I wouldn't have read this if I hadn't seen it at the bookstore at the time. It was a sweet story and I'm looking forward for the rest.


Friday, October 21, 2011

1st year Blogoversary!!!!!!

Yep I made it! My blog is 1 year old! I can't believe it!
Technically my blog's birthday was on Wednesday but with university being so hectic I almost forgot it.
But that won't stop me from celebrating today with a nice cupcake and lots of books to give away!

But first let me tell you the story of how I ended up creating a blog and entering the book blogging world with the most amazing and fun people! That's right, I mean you!

It was months after I finished my first YA book (Twilight) and was looking for something similar to read. It was the first paranormal book and until I picked up Twilight I'd never thought of reading anything containing vampires, werewolves, etc. At the time is was too freaky for me but in the end I found out that's exactly what I like lol!

So where did I look for other books like that? The internet of course! Well I could have gone to the bookstore but internet was the first thing I go to for information. So after many google searches I ended to my beloved GoodReads site and from there to bloggers. I found out that there are indeed a lot, a lot, a lot, A LOT of people reading and talking about books! Needless to say I was ecstatic! After a couple of months following some blogs I decided to create my own and a year after that here I am. :)
Sometimes I really love internet and google.

So that was the short version (I think) of how I ended up blogging in the first place. So now on with the giveaway! 

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma 
You Against me by Jenny Downham
So Shelly by Ty Roth 
Witch Eyes by Scott Tracey
Clarity by Kim Harrington
Fateful by Claudia Gray
Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Illuminated by Erica Orloff
A Dark so Beautiful by Jocelyn Davies

It's open internationally (as long as book depository can ship to your country)
You can enter only once.
5 WINNERS!!!!!
Extra entries:
Twitter Follower +1
Tweet it +2
Open till November 30th.
EXTENDED - ends December 16.
*********Giveaway is now closed*********
The winner has already been emailed.

*Some titles are not out yet so if you end up picking them keep in mind that you'll get the titles after they are published.
Winners will be emailed.



Monday, October 17, 2011

One For The Money MOVIE TRAILER!

One for the Money by Janet Evanovich is being turned into a movie which I think will hit the theatres this year. Now even though I loved the book and the characters-they were so hilarious- I can't say the same for the movie. Just by watching the trailer I don't think I'll like it.

The choice for Ranger is just perfect I think but Morelli I don't think so. Anyway I'll have to see the movie to get the whole picture.


Sunday, October 16, 2011

Book Review: Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Cold Kiss
Title: Cold Kiss
Author: Amy Garvey
Series: stand alone book so far
Publisher: Harper Collins
Expected Release Date: September 20th, 2011
Format: e-book, ARC
Source: Netgalley
My Rating: 2.5 stars

"It seemed so right. Danny was mine, I was his, and that wasn't going to work if he was dead. So I would make him not dead, not anymore. I didn't think any further than what it would feel like to kiss him again, to wrap my arms around him and bury my head against his shoulder.That was my first mistake. It also turned out to be the biggest."
When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can't imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she's inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved. 
Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can't turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him-and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Cold Kiss was my first book about zombies and I found myself waiting anxiously to read it. Sadly I was dissapointed. When I heard it was about zombies my first thought was that the book will be filled with a lot of zombie action but found that the book was focused on Wren and her feelings for her undead dead boyfriend. See the zombie in this story is her boyfriend that she brought to life because she couldn't handle the loss.

Throughout the book we get glimpses of how their relationship was before Danny died and Wren realizing as the time passes that the Danny she brought back has nothing to do with the Danny she fall in love with. There wasn't really any action in it but it kept me reading in the hopes I would find some in the end. Needless to say I loved Danny's and Wren's relationship, at least the 'alive' Danny.

In this story we are being introduced to the new love interest named Gabriel. I couldn't see a connection between Wren and Gabriel unfortunately and just couldn't believe that those two were falling for each other. Wren acts selfish pretty much throughout the novel and Gabriel just stood there. If I were him I would be long gone.

Another aspect of the story was Wren's family and their magical abilities which was not explained at all in the book. By the end of Cold Kiss we know nothing about their abilities expect from the fact that the women do have magic but not their uses or where it came from and what kind of powers they have. 

Overall I liked the book. I was just expecting something else.


Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by The Broke and Bookish
This week's Top 10:
Top 10 Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open (because of the cliffhanger or because the ending was MINDBLOWING, etc.)

I'll try to stay spoiler free. If there is a spoiler there will be a mention at the beginning of the sentence. 

1) Delirium by Lauren Oliver. OMG! That's a cliffhanger!! Although I expected it from a review that spoiled the ending it was still socking. 

2) The Midnighters by Scott Westerfeld. I am mad with the ending of the last book. He give me the ending I wanted but with a very bitter taste afterwards. Also after I read this series I felt that there is more to this world. I hope he writes more books.

3) The Darkest Powers by Kelley Armstrong. Even though the ending of the last book left us with a lot of questions it didn't bother me since she gave a sense of finality with the characters. It just felt right. It's hard to explain. Go read it, it's good!

4) A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies. Another strong cliffhanger. I will not say anything because I'll totally spoil it to you. I recommend reading this.

I can't come up with other books that either had a really great ending or bitting your nails ending. So it's Top 4 for me. :) 
What's your top ten?


Monday, October 3, 2011

Eve by Anna Carey BOOK TRAILER!

Eve is one of the books I'm dying to read and recently got through Netgalley so I can't wait to start reading it! Then I saw the trailer. Is it me or book trailers are becoming really good? (The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, The Gathering)

Here is the synopsis of the book and trailer.

Where do you go when nowhere is safe?
Sixteen years after a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth’s population, the world is a perilous place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has never been beyond the heavily guarded perimeter of her school, where she and two hundred other orphaned girls have been promised a future as the teachers and artists of the New America. But the night before graduation, Eve learns the shocking truth about her school’s real purpose—and the horrifying fate that awaits her.
Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Arden, her former rival from school, and Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust . . . and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.
In this epic new series, Anna Carey imagines a future that is both beautiful and terrifying. Readers will revel in Eve’s timeless story of forbidden love and extraordinary adventure.


Saturday, October 1, 2011

Book Review: Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston

Title: Wondrous Strange
Author: Lesley Livingston
Series: Wondrous Strange, Book 1
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: September 2009
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought it
My Rating: 4 stars

Since the dawn of time, the Faerie have taken. . . .
For seventeen-year-old actress Kelley Winslow, faeries are just something from childhood stories. Then she meets Sonny Flannery, whose steel-gray eyes mask an equally steely determination to protect her.
Sonny guards the Samhain Gate, which connects the mortal realm with the Faerie's enchanted, dangerous Otherworld. Usually kept shut by order of icy King Auberon, the Gate stands open but once a year.
This year, as the time approaches when the Samhain Gate will swing wide and nightmarish Fae will fight their way into an unsuspecting human world, something different is happening . . . something wondrous and strange. And Kelley's eyes are opening not just to the Faerie that surround her but to the heritage that awaits her.
Now Kelley must navigate deadly Faerie treachery—and her growing feelings for Sonny—in this dazzling page-turner filled with luminous romance.

I loved Wondrous Strange! I had my doubts when I started reading it because I'm not into faeries that much but this book was a big surprise for me. Faeries are a little too creepy for me but this book managed to keep all those aspects and facts about faeries without the creepiness.

Wondrous Stange is told both by Kelley-a 17-year old actress, and Sonny-a guard of the Gate which connects the mortal world and faerie world. I loved those two! They had such a connection and they were both down to earth. And Sonny.... he was so kick-ass and so into Kelley from the first moment even though he wouldn't admit it. And I loved LOVED that scene where the two of them were reading from Kelley's script.

The writing was also fantastic, it flowed so nicely that I didn't want to stop reading. The plot is original and you can see that Lesley has a strong connection with theatre and I loved all those theatre-related scenes. There are references of Shakespeare's Midsummer Night's Dream play that I found interesting and let me tell you that you don't have to know Shakespeare's play to understand this book. Although it may make you want to read it. 

All of the characters were fantastic even the minor ones, and I loved how Kelley didn't believe Sonny right away about the faeries. She actually laughs at his face, something you don't see often.

This book is perfect for those who don't like faeries because this one is so different from all the other faerie books and so good it'll make you want to know more about them.


Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Books I Want To Reread!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by The Broke and Bookish
This week's Top 10:
Top 10 Books I Want To Reread.

1) The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. I loved the books but I didn't have the chance to reread them yet.

2) Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. Just the first book. I need to get my Edward fix soon.

3) Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling! I think it's time to reread them again!

4) Tales of Otori by Lian Hearn. I read these books years ago. These were the first books I fall in love with. I need to read them again this time in English. 

5) Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. I read it while in high school the first 4 and I think there are 3 more I need to read.

6) Nevermore by Kelly Creagh. With the release of the second book being so way I need to re-visit this world soon.

7) Delirium by Lauren Oliver. I can't explain how much I love this one. I want to read it again and again. 

8) The Darkest Powers by Kelley Armstrong. Loved the series and the ending/conclusion was just perfect! 

I guess 8 will do. It's late and I can't think of any other books I'm dying to reread.


Friday, September 23, 2011

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer TRAILER!

I just came across the trailer for the book The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin and I'm even more excited about the book now if possible. This must be the most well done book trailer I've seen. I love everything about it!

Here is the synopsis of the book and the trailer. What do you think? It comes out on September 27th. I think I need to go to the bookstore next week.

***Does anyone know why I can't copy paste pictures on blogger anymore??***

Mara Dyer doesn't think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.
She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love.
She's wrong.


Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Sequels I'm Dying To Read!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by The Broke and Bookish
This week's Top 10:
Top 10 Sequels I'm Dying To Read.

1) Enshadowed by Kelly Creagh. OMG! I can't even tell you how bad I want to read this one and it won't be out until next summer!

2) Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver. The ending! I'm still in shock... 

3) A Beautiful Dark, book 2 currently untitled, by Jocelyn Davies. A Beautiful Dark is the first book in the series and the second doesn't have a tittle yet but I can't wait to read it! It ended with a cliffhanger so you can imagine. The first book in the series comes out later this month. 

4) Spellcaster by Cara Lynn Shultz. This is the second book of the Spellbound series and I'm really looking forward to it. 

5) Jessica Rules the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey. Loved the first one. 

6) Entice by Carrie Jones. I'm waiting for the 4th book to come out before I jump into this.

7) Supernaturally by Kiersten White. Adored Evie and very normal Lend, even though he is a paranormal. :P

8) Where She Went by Gayle Forman. Need to say more? 

9) Hourglass by Claudia Grey. 

10) Original Sin by Lisa Desrochers. Luc Cain...

What sequels are you dying to read?


Thursday, September 1, 2011

Book Review: The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

The Eternal Ones (Eternal Ones, #1)
Title: The Eternal Ones
Author: Kirsten Miller
Series: Eternal Ones, Book 1
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: 2010
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 411
Source: Bought it
My Rating: 3 stars

"So how does it work?" Haven asked. "How do people find each other again?"
"All I know is that we're drawn to the people we've loved before."
"And do we find each other in every life?"
The sorrow in Iain's face gave her a sense of how little she knew. "I look for you in every life, but I don't always find you. And sometimes I find you too late."
What if life refused to die?
Haven Moore can't control her visions of a past with a boy called Ethan, and a life in New York that ended in fiery tragedy. In our present, she designs beautiful dresses for her classmates with her best friend Beau. Dressmaking keeps her sane, since she lives with her widowed and heartbroken mother in her tyrannical grandmother's house in Snope City, a tiny town in Tennessee. Then an impossible group of coincidences conspire to force her to flee to New York, to discover who she is, and who she was.
In New York, Haven meets Iain Morrow and is swept into an epic love affair that feels both deeply fated and terribly dangerous. Iain is suspected of murdering a rock star and Haven wonders, could he have murdered her in a past life? She visits the Ouroboros Society and discovers a murky world of reincarnation that stretches across millennia. Haven must discover the secrets hidden in her past lives, and loves, before all is lost and the cycle begins again.
When The Eternal Ones got out I rushed to buy a copy because I'm such a sucker for love stories and this one promises a love that lasts forever. It deals with reincarnation and when I read the premise I knew in an instand that I'd love it. I haven't read anything before about true lovers being reincarnated and the idea behind the book was exciting and thrilling so I had big expectations when I picked it up. Having the love of your life find you in each life is awesome and epically romantic!

Unfortunately it wasn't what I was expecting. I couldn't see the connection between Iain and Haven and they barely spend any time together. There were of course a few scenes between them but it felt strange. There wasn't enough time between them to see the actual romance. Another downside that put me off at first and thought it was unnecessary was the first 150 pages. It dragged so long at the beginning that I was loosing patient and thought multiple of times to put it down. I understand that the author wanted to give us a feel of Haven's home situation but I think that it could have be done in less pages. I was more eager to learn about Iain's and Haven's story. ;) 

Another reason why I disliked the beginning was probably Haven's family and town. I think I must have found a character that I absolutely hate. Her grandmother was unbelievable! I could not understand this woman! When someone in your family has strange visions or whatever, you'll most likely take them to the doctor not to the priest for a quick exorcism. I got so mad that I had to put the book down for a couple of weeks before picking it up again.

The ending of the story didn't convince me. The bad guy of the story, which I won't name so I don't spoil anything to you, was really bad at being evil. I mean he had them and then left them go?? 

Will I read the next book All You Desire? Definitely. I haven't given up to this story and it has great potential. I'm curious to see what's next for Iain and Haven. Besides the title is just gorgeous! 


Friday, August 26, 2011

TGIF(4) & Follow Friday(12)

TGIF is hosted by GReads.
This week's question is:

Q. Which genres, authors, or particular book do you think people associate with your reading style?

I would say mostly paranormal and fantasy are the books that most people associate with me. Of course my friends and family will always associate me with Harry Potter and Twilight mostly because those books are well known even to people that don't read.
But I must say that I'm an eclectic reader, I read almost anything with a few exceptions. The last year though and since I started the blog I've been reading mostly YA books.

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee's View and Alison Can Read.
This week's question is:

Q. In books like the Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) series the paranormal creature in question "comes out of the closet" and makes itself known to the world. Which mythical creature do you wish would come out of the closet, for real? 

Mmm.... vampires are my favourite paranormal creature but I'm not too sure I would like to know that they are out there somewhere. Unless they are those vampires that don't hunt humans..... I wouldn't like fairies out there too! Too scary for me! I think shape-shifters would be ok. I mean I don't like camping so I think I would be ok. Besides the guys would probably have a killer body ;)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...